Mission Statement

The mission of the Sports Performance Department at Northern Illinois University is to create a training program and environment giving each student-athlete the opportunity to compete physically and mentally at the highest levels. Intense training sessions requiring accountability, work ethic, and attention to detail will lay the foundation for developing champions in the classroom, in competition and in life.

Philosophy

The NIU Sports Performance training plan consists of a year-round philosophy designed to improve the speed, power, and strength of each student-athlete. Each sport program's training plan is broken into phases all of which follow a form of periodization ranging from moderate to high intensity. The various time frames and levels of training intensity will allow each athlete the best opportunity of achieving and maintaining their highest levels of performance for their competitive season.

Sports Performance Staff Directory
Name Position Email Address
Brad Ohrt Director of Sports Performance bohrt@niu.edu
Matt Jacobs Associate Director of Sports Performance mjacobs@niu.edu
Zach Cahill Director of Olympic Sports - Sports Performance zcahill@niu.edu
E.J. Hibbler Assistant Director of Sports Performance ehibbler@niu.edu
Ryan Hartsell Graduate Assistant - Sports Performance rhartsell1@niu.edu
Amanda Sheppard Graduate Assistant - Sports Performance asheppard2@niu.edu

Brad Ohrt
Director of Sports Performance

Matthew Jacobs
Associate Director of Sports Performance

Zach Cahill
Director of Olympic Sports - Sports Performance

E.J. Hibbler
Assistant Director of Sports Performance

Ryan Hartsell
Graduate Assistant - Sports Performance

Amanda Sheppard
Graduate Assistant - Sports Performance

 

Frazier Corner Promotions Follow The Huskies Fan Guide Recruits Shop