Forty-Nine Men's Hoops Alumni Set to Return to Campus Saturday

Tim Dillon

Feb. 11, 2010

DEKALB, Ill. - One of the strongest turnouts in the Northern Illinois men's basketball Alumni Day's history is expected this Saturday, with at least 49 former players, coaches and staff members scheduled to participate in the festivities. The event will be highlighted by the annual alumni game, which will tip-off at 11:30 a.m., from the Convocation Center, and is free to the public with a ticket to Saturday's NIU-Ball State men's basketball game.

Huskie all-time greats, the likes of All-Americans Paul Dawkins (1975-79), Tim Dillon (1980-84), Matt Hicks (1977-78) and Allen Rayhorn (1978-82), among many others, are expected to be in attendance. At least 15 players have committed to play in the alumni game, with the Cardinal and Black teams set to be coached by by a pair of former Huskie assistant coaches, in Johnie Butler and Mark Coomes. Former NIU sports information director Mike Korcek, and current Director of Transportation and former men's basketball manager Bill Finucane will serve as assistant coaches.

Rayhorn, Dawkins, Dillon and Hicks are the respective third, fourth, sixth and seventh leading scorers in Huskie basketball history. Rayhorn is one-of just three players in NIU history to score 1,800 or more (1,848) points, and still owns the single-season scoring record for a sophomore, scoring 578 points in his second season at NIU during the 1979-80 campaign.

He is the only Huskie in the modern era to lead the team in scoring in three-consecutive seasons, accomplishing the feat in 1979-80, 1980-81 and 1981-82. Rayhorn was the Mid-American Conference Freshman of the Year in 1978-79, and earned first-team all-conference accolades in his ensuing three seasons. He was an honorable mention Associated Press All-American during the 1981-82 campaign.

Dawkins boasts the individual records for single-season scoring average (26.7 points per game in 1978-79), points in a single season (695; 1978-79), and points in a Mid-American Conference game, when he poured in 47 points versus Western Michigan on Feb. 28, 1979. He was tabbed the MAC Player of the Year at the conclusion of the 1978-79 season, and also earned a Special Mention All-America plaudit from the Sporting News. Dawkins earned First-Team All-MAC accolades twice (1977-78 and 1978-79).



Dillon's 1,559 career points rank sixth all-time, less than 100 points from cracking the top-five in the NIU career annals. He earned an honorable mention All-America nod from the AP in both 1982-83 and 1983-84, along with a Special Mention from the Sporting News at the conclusion of the 1983-84 campaign. Dillon nabbed first team All-MAC honors in both campaigns, as well.

Hicks scored 1,513 points in his career, and owns the respective third and fourth-highest single-season scoring averages in program history, scoring 25.3 points per game in 1976-77, and 25.0 points per contest in the 1975-76 campaign. He is also NIU's eighth-leading rebounder, corralling 804 career rebounds.

Hicks collected Special Mention AP All-America honors, and Converse Honorable Mention plaudits, following the 1975-76 season. In 1976-77, Hicks was an honorable mention AP All-American, earned Special Mention honors from the Sporting News and was a Converse Honorable Mention All-America selection.

Other players returning for Alumni Day include John Harris (1975-79), who scored 1,245 career points; Jay Bryant (1976-80), a 2009 inductee into the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA) Hall of Fame; 1,000-point scorers Donald Whiteside (1987-91) and Mike McKinney (2003-07); Burton Anderson (1997-99), Stacy Arrington (1987-91), Jay Bates (2001-03), Bruce Boardman (1970 alumnus), Rodney Davis (1985-88), Piff Dukes (1997-99), Lew Flinn (1956-59), Mike Hidden (1988-92), Isaac Johnson (1965-68), Ron Lindfors (1980-83), Bob Lyman (1988-89), Ronald May (1960 alumnus), Steve McCuiston (1977-81), Randy Norman (1984-88), Jim O'Brian (1971 alumnus), Mike Padden (1980-83), Art Rohlman (1968-71), Chuck Schramm (1980-81), Jack Scott, Al Sewasciuk (2000-04), Jim Smith (1967-69), Robert Stark (1963), Roger Swan (1947-48), Dennis Taylor (1969 alumnus), Mike Taylor (1966-68), Allen TeBockhorst (1963-65), Shawn Thrower (1977-81), Bruce Washington (1975-77), Kevin Whiteford (1983-85), Jerry Williams (1983-87), Andre Williams (1997-98) and Jim Smith (1967-69).

All alumni will be recognized at halftime of the NIU men's basketball game versus Ball State, which is set to tip-off at 3 p.m. CST. Admission to the Alumni Game is free to those with a valid ticket to the contest that afternoon. For tickets, contact the NIU ticket office at 815-752-6800 or log onto the "Tickets" page on

Frazier Corner Promotions Follow The Huskies Fan Guide Recruits Shop