Northern Illinois Football 2011 Depth Chart



Aug. 23, 2011

NIU Football 2011 Depth Chart

Eleven days before Northern Illinois opens the 2011 football season at Huskie Stadium versus Army, Northern Illinois Head Coach Dave Doeren released the first depth chart of the season for the Huskies on Tuesday.

Every player listed on the starting units on offense and defense lettered for the Huskies a year ago with the exception of redshirt freshman fullback Luke Eakes who is listed as the starter along with senior Cameron Bell. NIU returns eight starters on offense, including the entire offensive line, who have totaled 105 starts for the Huskies over the past three seasons, and quarterback Chandler Harnish - a four-year starter with 31 career starts under center. The Northern Illinois offense broke eight school single game records a year ago and ranked in the nation's Top 20 in rushing offense, scoring offense, total offense and passing efficiency behind Harnish's record-setting season as he broke the NIU single season total offense mark with 3,366 yards on 429 plays.

Defensively, Northern Illinois returns three players with at least one year as a starter in defensive end Sean Progar, a 2010 All Mid-American Conference choice, safety Tommy Davis and middle linebacker Pat Schiller. Redshirt freshman Jamaal Bass is the lone non-letterwinner among the defensive starting 11, however the two-deep includes several new names. Transfer Courtney Stephen (safety), redshirt freshmen and Geneva products Michael Santacaterina (linebacker) and Frank Boenzi (nose guard), Sycamore product Marckie Hayes (cornerback), true freshman Paris Logan (cornerback) and junior college newcomer Jhony Faustin (cornerback) are among the "new" names on the defensive depth chart.

On the specialists unit, Tommy Davis returns as the Huskies' return man after earning MAC honors a year ago. Sophomore Mathew Sims is listed atop the placekickers' chart while true freshman Tyler Wedel is the No. 1 kickoff man. Redshirt junior Ryan Neir steps in as the NIU punter and holder.

The complete two-deep is listed below or available as a PDF (click link at top).


Pos. First Team Second Team Third Team
WR(X)   1 Martel Moore 13 Anthony Johnson       
WR(Y) 4 Da'Ron Brown 3 DeMarcus Grady  
WR(F) 81 Nathan Palmer 22 Jamison Wells  
TE 89 Jack Marks 88 Tim Semisch 94 Adam Kiel
LT 62 Trevor Olson 67 Tyler Pitt   
LG 70 Logan Pegram 77 Jared Volk   
C 71 Scott Wedige 59 Michael Gegner   
RG 72 Joe Pawlak 66 Matt Battaglia   
RT 68 Keith Otis 78 Ryan Brown   
WR(Z) 10 Willie Clark 7 Perez Ashford   
QB 12 Chandler Harnish       6 Jordan Lynch 16 Matt McIntosh   
FB 32 Cameron Bell 41 Pat McAvoy   
    OR 83 Luke Eakes      
TB 25 Jasmin Hopkins 30 Akeem Daniels   
    OR     5 Jamal Womble   
    OR    23 Leighton Settle   


Pos. First Team Second Team
RE 97 Joe Windsor 90 Alan Baxter
DT 91 Anthony Wells 96 Ron Newcomb
NG 99 Nabal Jefferson 98 Frank Boenzi
DE 95 Sean Progar 57 Kyle Jenkins
OLB 6 Jamaal Bass 52 Michael Santacaterina    
MLB 53 Pat Schiller 40 Victor Jacques
OLB 29 Jordan Delegal          39 Gervaise Porter
CB 11 Rashaan Melvin 17 Marckie Hayes
    OR       28 Jhony Faustin
SS 20 Tommy Davis 14 Courtney Stephen
FS 19 Demetrius Stone     15 Jimmie Ward
CB 24 Dominique Ware 2 Sean Evans


Pos. First Team Second Team
PK 99 Mathew Sims 37 Josh Gallington
      2 Ryan Fillingim
KO 26 Tyler Wedel 2 Ryan Fillingim
P 18 Ryan Neir 26 Tyler Wedel
SN(P)    84 Brian Mayer 93 Adam Coleman
SN(K) 93 Adam Coleman         84 Brian Mayer
HO 18 Ryan Neir 12 Chandler Harnish           
RS 20 Tommy Davis 7 Perez Ashford

Updated August 23, 2011



Frazier Corner Promotions Follow The Huskies Fan Guide Recruits Shop