NIU's Doeren a Semifinalist for Maxwell Coach of the Year Honor

GO HUSKIES <i>The Huskies' win over Toledo clinched the team's third straight MAC Championship game appearance, and second under Doeren.</i>
The Huskies' win over Toledo clinched the team's third straight MAC Championship game appearance, and second under Doeren.

Nov. 19, 2012

DeKALB, Ill. - Northern Illinois Head Coach Dave Doeren has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the 2012 Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award, the organization announced over the weekend.

Doeren has led the 2012 Huskies to 10-straight victories, the Mid-American Conference West Division Championship and a No. 24/23 national ranking in the Associated Press and USA Today Coaches' polls. Northern Illinois is the only team in the country to win 19 of its last 20 games, and the Huskies' current 10-game winning streak ties for the longest in a single season in school history. In two seasons at the helm of the NIU program, his first two as a head coach, Doeren is 21-4.

Following its regular season finale versus Eastern Michigan Friday in Ypsilanti, where NIU has the opportunity to win its 11th game for the third consecutive year and at the earliest point in program history, the Huskies will take on Kent State in the 2012 Marathon MAC Championship game on Nov. 30 in Detroit, Mich.

Doeren and Kent State's Darrell Hazell are both on the MFC Collegiate Coach of the Year semifinalist list. The rest of the semifinalists are: Sonny Dykes (Louisiana Tech), Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Chip Kelly (Oregon), Mike MacIntyre (San Jose State), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Jim Mora (UCLA), Will Muschamp (Florida), Bill O'Brien (Penn State), Mark Richt (Georgia), Mike Riley (Oregon State), David Shaw (Stanford), Bill Snyder (Kansas State), Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M), Dabo Swinney (Clemson).

The MFC National Selection Committee chose the semifinalists for the Collegiate Coach of the Year honor. Voting for the award takes place from Tuesday, Nov. 20 through Tuesday, Dec. 4. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media. Brady Hoke of the University of Michigan was the 2011 winner of the award.

The Northern Illinois-Eastern Michigan game can be seen online at beginning at Noon (CT). The game will also be heard on WSCR 670 AM in Chicago, WLBK 1360 in DeKalb and WTJK 1380 in Janesville, Wis. on the Northern Illinois IMG Sports Network.



Tickets for the 2012 Marathon MAC Championship game are on sale now for just $20 and can be purchased online at For more information on tickets, alumni events and travel packages to Detroit, go to the Postseason Central page on

-- NIU --

Twitter: @NIUAthletics
Facebook: NIU Huskies

Frazier Corner Promotions Follow The Huskies Fan Guide Recruits Shop