Field Set for NCAA Golf Regional at Rich Harvest Farms

GO HUSKIES Rich Harvest Farms will host a NCAA Men's Golf Regional May 15-17, 2014
Rich Harvest Farms will host a NCAA Men's Golf Regional May 15-17, 2014

May 5, 2014

NCAA Regional Central

DEKALB, Ill. --
The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship field was announced on Monday with 14 teams and five individuals selected to compete at the Sugar Grove Regional, hosted by NIU, at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill., Thursday, May 15 through Saturday, May 17.

The 14-team field is headlined by top-seeded California, who is led by 2014 Byron Nelson Award winner Brandon Hagy. The Golden Bears finished third this past weekend at the Pac-12 Championship and are ranked fourth in the most recent Golf World/Nike Golf Division I College Coaches’ Poll. Three other top-25 teams will also be in the Sugar Grove Regional field with No. 8 Illinois, No. 18 UAB and No. 21 Southern California.

Other teams in the field at Rich Harvest Farms include: UNLV, Clemson, Kent State, Purdue, Mississippi State, Cal State Fullerton, New Mexico State, Jacksonville State, Cleveland State and Saint Peter’s. In addition five individuals, Niall Platt (Notre Dame), Chris O’Neill (Michigan), Danny Pizetoski (Richmond), Juan Veloza (Towson) and Rob van de Vin (IUPUI), will also compete in the regional.

The low five teams and the low individual not from those teams will advance to the NCAA Championship at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan., May 23-28.

Three teams in the field have recent history playing at Rich Harvest Farms as Purdue competed in the Northern Intercollegiate in 2011 and 2012, finishing tied for sixth in 2011 and fourth in 2012. Illinois was tied with Purdue for sixth in the 2011 Northern Intercollegiate while Kent State won the 2012 Mid-American Conference Championship in Sugar Grove, led by individual medalist Corey Conners, who will also lead the Golden Flashes next week at Rich Harvest Farms.

The 2014 tournament will mark the second time Rich Harvest Farms has hosted a NCAA Regional. The first came in 2007 and was won by Tulsa. Purdue is the only school to return from the 2007 regional field.

Admission is free of charge for all three days of the NCAA Regional. Volunteer opportunities are still available by following this link.

NCAA Sugar Grove Regional Field
1. California
2. Illinois
3. Southern California
4. UAB
6. Clemson
7. Kent State
8. Purdue
9. Mississippi State
10. Cal State Fullerton
11. New Mexico State
12. Jacksonville State
13. Cleveland State
14. Saint Peter’s

1. Niall Platt, Notre Dame
2. Chris O’Neill, Michigan
3. Danny Pizetoski, Richmond
4. Juan Veloza, Towson
5. Rob van de Vin, IUPUI



Frazier Corner Promotions Follow The Huskies Fan Guide Recruits Shop