NIU Men's Tennis Team Dominates Chicago State in Home Finale

GO HUSKIES Brian Livingston extends his winning streak to five matches against Chicago State
Brian Livingston extends his winning streak to five matches against Chicago State

April 18, 2007

DeKalb, Ill. - Northern Illinois men's tennis team won their home finale over Chicago State with a final score of 6-0. The Huskies are now 8-10 overall with two matches left before the MAC Tournament.

It was a triumphant home outdoor opener/finale for the Huskies as each player picked up a win on Wednesday. This was the first match the team was able to play outside at home and the last home match scheduled for the season.

Sophomore Brian Livingston (Skokie, IL/Niles North) extended his winning streak to five straight matches with his win over Prakso Imanuel of CSU by a score of 7-6, 6-1. Prabowo Imanuel of CSU gave Junior Alex Friesen (Vancouver, British Columbia / Burnaby Central) a tough match but Friesen was able to put him away by a score of 7-5, 6-4.

Junior Adam Ford (Grand Rapids, MI/Forest Hills Central) cruised to victory over CSU's Jonathan Sutjaidi with a final score of 6-0, 6-3. Sophomore Jimmy Chu (Lima, Peru/San Augustin), Junior Diego Zegarra-Ballon (Lima, Peru/Markham College Prep) and Sophomore Javier Bernabe (Segova, Spain) also picked up wins for the Huskies to make the final score 6-0 in favor of NIU.

The coaches decided to forgo the doubles matches in lew of the weather and score after the singles competition.

Head coach Pontus Hiort said of his teams victory, "We played a good match and our guys handled the cold weather really well."

The Huskies finish their regular season with back-to-back road matches against IPFW on Friday, April 21 at 1:00 pm and Saturday, April 22 at 1:00 pm against Ball State.

Northern Illinois vs. Chicago State Complete Results



NIU 6, CSU 0

1. Brian Livingston (NIU) def. Prakso Imanuel (CSU) 7-6, 6-1

2. Alex Friesen (NIU) def. Prabowo Imanuel (CSU) 7-5, 6-4

3. Adam Ford (NIU) def. Jonathan Sutjaidi (CSU) 6-0, 6-3

4. Jimmy Chu (NIU) def. Nicolas Ortega-Peric (CSU) 6-2, 6-1

5. Diego Zegarra-Ballon (NIU) def. Abram Mamahit (CSU) 7-6, 6-1

6. Javier Bernabe (NIU) def. Cameron Shanklin (CSU) 6-4, 6-1