NIU Gets Five Placewinners at MSU Open

GO HUSKIES Tyler Argue took third place at 141 pounds
Tyler Argue took third place at 141 pounds

Nov. 9, 2013

EAST LANSING, Mich. – The Northern Illinois University wrestling team faced some of the region’s best programs Saturday inside Jenison Fieldhouse, where the Huskies got five placewinners at the MSU Open.
Sophomore Andrew Morse took second place at 157 pounds, while freshman Jordan Northrup won the fresh/soph 133 bracket.
“The field of competition was outstanding and we had some guys perform very well,” said NIU head coach Ryan Ludwig. “(Andrew) Morse, (Tyler) Argue and (Shawn) Scott really got after it and won some key matches today. I think we made strides as a team and the guys can feel it.”
After taking second place last weekend in South Dakota, Northrup continued his impressive redshirt season with two pins and a technical fall in his first three matches, sticking Notre Dame (Ohio)’s Jonas Gaytan and Lindenwood’s Wesley Lancaster before routing Chris Caton of Indiana, 16-1. In the semifinals, the Machesney Park, Ill., native defeated Michigan’s George Fisher, 9-6, before squeaking past Indiana’s Kyle Springer, 6-4, in the finals.
At 157, Morse defeated MAC rival Andrew Romanchik of Ohio, 2-0, before taking a win by injury default over Ohio State’s Randall Languis. In the quarterfinals, Morse tallied a 13-4 major decision against Johnny Greisheimer of Edinboro, then handily defeated Michigan State’s Ryan Watts, 9-2, to punch his ticket into the finals. The sophomore’s day ended when he was pinned by two-time NCAA Championships qualifier Taylor Walsh.
Fellow sophomore Tyler Argue found his way onto the podium with a third place finish at 141. The Mt. Carmel High School product won his first three matches, including a 24-9 tech fall of Ohio’s Jacob Rockloff and a pin of Indiana’s Ethan Raley. After getting pinned in the semifinals by Columbia’s Matt Bystol, Argue capped the day with a win by medical forfeit against Edinboro’s Mitchell Port.
Taking fourth place at 197 pounds was Shawn Scott. He began the day with a 5-0 shutout of Andrew Simpson of Olivet before registering a 13-3 major decision against Michigan State’s Nick McDiarmid to get to the semifinals. However, Scott fell by major decision to Ohio’s Phil Wellington before losing to Michigan State’s Luke Jones in the third-place match.
Despite dropping his first match of the day, Nick Harrison ran off four-straight wins in the wrestlebacks. The native of Stillman Valley, Ill., pinned Kristopher McKinley of Indiana Tech, then got a 9-1 major decision over Calumet College of St. Joseph’s Anthony Hawkins, an injury default win over Notre Dame (Ohio)’s Brian Hauser and an 8-2 decision over Columbia’s Penn Gottfried. In the fifth-place match, Harrison fell to Ohio State’s Nick Roberts to finish sixth.
The Huskies get their first taste of dual action next weekend, when they take on Michigan, Oregon State, Clarion and Findlay at the EMU Duals Nov. 16.
125: Derek Elmore*
Brendan Campbell (Navy) dec. Derek Elmore (NIU), 7-3
Alexander Calandrino (Eastern Michigan) dec. Derek Elmore (NIU), 8-3
125: Nick Harrison – Sixth Place
Nathan Tomasello (Ohio State) maj. dec. Nick Harrison (NIU), 14-3
Nick Harrison (NIU) pins Kristopher McKinley (Indiana Tech), 6:49
Nick Harrison (NIU) maj. dec. Anthony Hawkins (Calumet Coll. Of St. Joseph), 9-1
Nick Harrison (NIU) wins by injury default over Brian Hauser (Notre Dame [Ohio])
Nick Harrison (NIU) dec. Penn Gottfried (Columbia), 8-2
Nick Roberts (Ohio State) maj. dec. Nick Harrison (NIU), 9-0
133: Jordan Northrup^ – First Place
Jordan Northrup (NIU) pins Jonas Gaytan (Notre Dame [Ohio]), 2:19
Jordan Northrup (NIU) pins Wesley Lancaster (Lindenwood), 1:06
Jordan Northrup (NIU) tech. fall Chris Caton (Indiana), 16-1
Jordan Northrup (NIU) dec. George Fisher (Michigan), 9-6
Jordan Northrup (NIU) dec. Kyle Springer (Indiana), 6-4
141: Tyler Argue – Third Place
Tyler Argue (NIU) tech. fall Jacob Rockloff (Ohio), 24-9
Tyler Argue (NIU) dec. Michael Dahlstrom (Campbell), 9-6
Tyler Argue (NIU) pins Ethan Raley (Indiana), 3:42
Matt Bystol (Columbia) pins Tyler Argue (NIU), 1:21
Tyler Argue (NIU) wins by medical forfeit over Mitchell Port (Edinboro)
141: Sal Annoreno^
Sal Annoreno (NIU) maj. dec. Billy Waldeck (Ohio), 8-0
Dylan Kager (Lake Erie) dec. Sal Annoreno (NIU), 10-7
Sal Annoreno (NIU) dec. Recco Samuel (Edinboro), 6-4
Cameron Kennedy (Michigan) dec. Sal Annoreno (NIU), 5-1
149: Mason Cleaver^
Stephen Myers (Lindsey Wilson) maj. dec. Mason Cleaver (NIU), 13-5
Cody VanderHagen (Michigan) dec. Mason Cleaver (NIU), 3-1 (OT)
157: Andrew Morse – Second Place
Andrew Morse (NIU) dec. Andrew Romanchik (Ohio), 2-0
Andrew Morse (NIU) wins by injury forfeit over Randall Languis (Ohio State)
Andrew Morse (NIU) maj. dec. Johnny Greisheimer (Edinboro), 13-4
Andrew Morse (NIU) dec. Ryan Watts (Michigan State), 9-2
Taylor Walsh (Indiana) pins Andrew Morse (NIU), 0:40
157: Matt Smith
Matt Smith (NIU) dec. Zach Baumgartner (Edinboro), 7-2
Spartak Chino (Ohio) dec. Matt Smith (NIU), 9-4
Chad Ryan (Columbia) pins Matt Smith (NIU), 3:39
165: Sam Bennett
Sam Bennett (NIU) maj. dec. James Bennett (Indiana Tech), 10-2
Sam Bennett (NIU) maj. dec. Nathan Hartless (Edinboro), 11-0
Harrison Hightower (Ohio) pins Sam Bennett (NIU), 1:37
Sam Bennett (NIU) maj. dec. Anthony Bill (Central Michigan), 11-0
Troy Reaghard (Pittsburgh) dec. Sam Bennett (NIU), 4-3
174: Billy Chancey
Taylor Massa (Michigan) maj. dec. Billy Chancey (NIU), 11-3
Billy Chancey (NIU) dec. Brandon Hill (Michigan), 5-1
Billy Chancey (NIU) dec. Matt Irick (Indiana), 8-2
Billy Chancey (NIU) dec. Pat Kissel (Purdue), 4-3
Mark Martin (Ohio State) maj. dec. Billy Chancey (NIU), 9-1
174: Matt Mougin*
Matt Mougin (NIU) maj. dec. Luke Schmit (Purdue), 11-1
Nick Kaczanowski (Michigan State) dec. Matt Mougin (NIU), 4-3
Marshal Willet (Ohio) maj. dec. Matt Mougin (NIU), 13-5
184: Caleb Busson
Craig Kelliher (Central Michigan) dec. Caleb Busson (NIU), 7-3
Caleb Busson (NIU) wins by injury default over Shane Rosenberry (NIU)
James Mannier (Navy) wins by injury default over Caleb Busson (NIU)
184: Shane Rosenberry
Shane Rosenberry (NIU) dec. Jameel Bryant (Lindsey Wilson), 12-11
Anthony Abro (Eastern Michigan) maj. dec. Shane Rosenberry (NIU), 16-4
Caleb Busson (NIU) wins by injury default over Shane Rosenberry (NIU)
197: Shawn Scott – Fourth Place
Shawn Scott (NIU) dec. Andrew Simpson (Olivet), 5-0
Shawn Scott (NIU) maj. dec. Nick McDiarmid (Michigan State), 13-3
Phil Wellington (Ohio) dec. Shawn Scott (NIU), 12-5
Luke Jones (Michigan State) pins Shawn Scott (NIU), 0:45
197: Parker Settecase
Jackson Lewis (Central Michigan) dec. Parker Settecase (NIU), 3-1
Mark Jorgenson (California Baptist) dec. Parker Settecase (NIU), 5-3
285: Arthur Bunce
Arthur Bunce (NIU) dec. Conor Sweeney (Columbia), 1-0
Andre Dunn (Indiana Tech) pins Arthur Bunce (NIU), 0:21
Wyatt Baker (Columbia) dec. Arthur Bunce (NIU), 7-2
285: Jake Cochrane^
Alejardo Reid (Olivet) dec. Jake Cochrane (NIU), 2-0
Jake Cochrane (NIU) dec. Austin Linden (Lake Erie), 2-1
Jake Cochrane (NIU) dec. Terrence Cheeks (Edinboro), 4-2
Newton Smerchek (Central Michigan) dec. Jake Cochrane (NIU), 3-2
285: Jared Torrence
Chris Nash (Michigan State) dec. Jared Torrence (NIU), 5-4
Jared Torrence (NIU) dec. Tyler Kral (Purdue), 7-4
Jared Torrence (NIU) dec. Alex White (Purdue), 4-3
Jared Torrence (NIU) dec. Wyatt Baker (Columbia), 3-1
Ernest James (Edinboro) pins Jared Torrence (NIU), 1:30
*Wrestled unattached
^Wrestled in fresh/soph division unattached



Frazier Corner Promotions Follow The Huskies Fan Guide Recruits Shop