2012 MAC Women's Tennis Championships Central



April 25, 2012

2012 MAC Women's Tennis Championships Schedule and Results
All times are Central. Scores will be updated on this page as matches are completed each day.

Last updated on 4-29-12 at 5:15 PM CT

Thursday, April 26

No. 9 Ball State def. No. 8 Toledo, 4-3 | Scores | Recap

Friday, April 27

No. 1 Miami (OH) def. No. 9 Ball State, 5-0 | NIU West Tennis Courts | Miami's Live Stats | Scores | Recap

No. 5 Bowling Green def. No. 4 Eastern Michigan, 4-0 | DeKalb High School Courts | Scores | Recap

No. 2 Akron vs. def. 7 Northern Illinois, 4-0 | NIU West Tennis Courts | Scores | Recap

No. 3 Western Michigan def. No. 6 Buffalo, 4-3 | DeKalb High School Courts | Scores | Recap

Saturday, April 28

No. 1 Miami (OH) def. No. 5 Bowling Green, 4-0 | Vaughan Athletic Center | Miami's Live Stats | Scores | Recap | Miami Interview

No. 2 Akron def. No. 3 Western Michigan, 4-0 | Vaughan Athletic Center | Scores | Recap | Akron Interview

Sunday, April 29

MAC Championship -- No. 2 Akron def. No. 1 Miami (OH), 4-3 | NIU West Tennis Courts | Miami's Live Stats | Scores | Recap | Akron Interview

Tennis Program                     Tennis Guide                     Tennis Facebook

General Info
All teams will participate in the four-day, single-elimination championship. The championship shall be conducted as a team event utilizing a 3-6 format (doubles first, then singles) with doubles counting one point (7-point scoring system). The team winning the MAC Women's Tennis Tournament will be the conference representative to the NCAA Women's Tennis Championship.

The championship shall be played outdoors if the weather permits. The championship referee shall decide whether or not to move play indoors. In the event of rain or inclement weather, matches will be played at the Vaughan Athletic Center in Aurora, Ill.

Court Locations
NIU West Tennis Courts
1200 Stadium Drive North
DeKalb, IL 60115

DeKalb High School Tennis Courts
501 W. Dresser Road
DeKalb, IL 60115

Vaughan Athletic Center
2121 West Indian Trail Road
Aurora, IL 60506

MAC Regular Season Awards
All-MAC Teams: First Team -- Stephanie Danesis (MU), Zara Harutyunyan (UA), Nikki Chiricosta (BG), Tanvi Shah (UB), Olga Sjkundina (UA), Courtney Wild (BSU).  Second Team -- Nino Mebuke (EMU), Prang Pantusart (UA), Miriam Westerink (EMU), Emily Reuland (BG), Kelsey Anonsen (UT), Christiana Raymond (MU).
Freshman of the Year: Olga Shkundina (UA)
Player of the Year: Stephanie Danesis (MU)
Coach of the Year: Anca Dumitrescu (MU)
Leann Grimes Davidge Sportsmanship Award: Maddy Eccleston (BG)
Champion: Miami (OH)

MAC Tournament Awards
All-Tournament Team: Katie Grubb (BG), Kathleen Hawkins (WMU), Alix Thurman (MU), Riekie Honiball (MU), Zara Harutyunyan (UA), Prang Pantusart (UA)
MVP: Prang Pantusart (UA)
Champion: Akron



Frazier Corner Promotions Follow The Huskies Fan Guide Recruits Shop