Staff Directory

Mailing Address:
Intercollegiate Athletics
Convocation Center (CV)
Dekalb, IL  60115
Main Phone: (815) 753-PACK (7225)
Fax Number: (815) 753-7700

Executive Administration
Associate Vice President/Director of Athletics Sean T. Frazier  Email (815) 753-7370
Senior Administrative Assistant Janaan Mickey  jsmickey@niu.edu (815) 753-7370
Deputy Director of Athletics Christian Spears cspears@niu.edu (815) 753-9494
Senior Associate Athletics Director/Business Affairs/
Senior Woman Administrator
Debra Boughton dboughton1@niu.edu (815) 753-9541
Senior Associate Athletics Director/Facilities and Event Operations John Cheney jcheney2@niu.edu (815) 753-1801
Senior Associate Athletics Director/Director of Student-Athlete Academic Support Services Melissa Dawson (Spring 2014) TBA (815) 753-1727
Associate Athletics Director/Compliance and Student Services Lindsey Hicks lhicks@niu.edu (815) 753-8290
Associate Athletics Director/Major Gifts Mark Muhlhauser mmuhlhauser@niu.edu (815) 753-2029
Associate Athletics Director/Collegiate Advancement & External Affairs Ryan Sedevie rsedevie@niu.edu (815) 753-0639
Faculty Athletics Representative - Zulauf Hall 413
NCAA Faculty Athletic Representative Matt Streb mstreb@niu.edu (815) 753-7040
Baseball - CV 224A
Head Coach Ed Mathey emathey@niu.edu (815) 753-2225
Assistant Coach Tom Carcione tcarcione@niu.edu (815) 753-0147
Assistant Coach Todd Coryell tcoryell@niu.edu (815) 753-0147
Assistant Coach Marvin Sanchez msanchez2@niu.edu (815) 753-0147
Men's Basketball - CV 231
Head Coach Mark Montgomery -- (815) 753-1633
Assistant Coach Jon Borovich jborovich@niu.edu (815) 753-1361
Assistant Coach Jason Larson jlarson5@niu.edu (815) 753-1629
Assistant Coach Lou Dawkins ldawkins@niu.edu (815) 753-9115
Director of Player Development/Video Chad Pecka cpecka@niu.edu (815) 753-1362
Women's Basketball - CV 230
Head Coach Kathi Bennett -- (815) 753-0586
Assistant Coach Kevin McManaman kmcmanaman@niu.edu (815) 753-0586
Assistant Coach Debbie Whitman dwhitman@niu.edu (815) 753-0586
Assistant Coach Latrell Fleming bfleming@niu.edu (815) 753-0586
Director of Basketball Operations Stephanie Smith ssmith25@niu.edu (815) 753-0586
Cheerleading - CV 213
Head Coach Heather Bennett heatherbennett@niu.edu (708) 227-5460
Women's Cross Country - CV 223D
Head Coach Greg Hipp ghipp@niu.edu (815) 753-9474
Volunteer Assistant Ashley Lucas TBA (815) 753-0836
Football - Yordon Center
Head Coach Rod Carey coachcarey@niu.edu (815) 753-1825
Defensive Coordinator, Safeties Jay Niemann Email (815) 753-1825
Offensive Coordinator, Quarterbacks Bob Cole Email (815) 753-1825
Assistant Coach, Defensive Line/Recruiting Coordinator Brett Diersen Email (815) 753-1825
Assistant Coach, Linebackers/Special Teams Coordinator Kevin Kane Email (815) 753-1825
Assistant Coach, Running Backs Kelton Copeland Email (815) 753-1825
Assistant Coach, Tight Ends & Fullbacks Craig Harmon Email (815) 753-1825
Assistant Coach, Offensive Line Joe Tripodi Email (815) 753-1825
Assistant Coach, Wide Receivers Thad Ward Email (815) 753-1825
Assistant Coach, Cornerbacks Kelvin Sigler Email (815) 753-1825
Assistant Athletic Director, Football Operations Matt Lipman Email (815) 753-8406
Assistant Director of Football Operations/Recruiting Trevor Cipriano Email (815) 753-0790
Assistant Director of Football Operations/Video Dan Wolfe Email (815) 753-8484
Graduate Assistant Joe Pawlak Email (815) 753-1825
Graduate Assistant Jake Landry Email (815) 753-1825
Graduate Assistant Nick Pesick Email (815) 753-1825
Graduate Assistant Jake Van Groll Email (815) 753-1825
Graduate Assistant Aaron Christner Email (815) 753-1825
Secretary Julie Edwards jaedwards@niu.edu (815) 753-0220
Men's Golf - CV 224E
Director of Golf/Head Men's Coach Tom Porten tporten@niu.edu (815) 753-1816
Assistant Coach Andrew Frame aframe1@niu.edu (815) 753-9201
Women's Golf - CV 224D
Director of Golf Tom Porten tporten@niu.edu (815) 753-1816
Head Coach Kim Kester kkester@niu.edu (815) 753-1548
Assistant Coach Andrew Frame aframe1@niu.edu (815) 753-9201
Gymnastics - CV 220C
Head Coach Sam Morreale smorreale1@niu.edu (815) 753-1498
Assistant Coach Dawnita Teague nteague@niu.edu (815) 753-1871
Assistant Coach Chris Weiss cweiss@niu.edu (815) 753-1871
Men's Soccer - CV 223E
Head Coach Eric Luzzi eluzzi@niu.edu (815) 753-1372
Associate Head Coach Garrett Biller gbiller@niu.edu (815) 753-6873
Assistant Coach Mark Jones mjones4@niu.edu (815) 753-6873
Volunteer Assistant Ross Brady mbrady@niu.edu (815) 753-6873
Women's Soccer - CV 223F
Head Coach John Ross jross1@niu.edu (815) 753-9535
Assistant Coach Christie Chappell cchappell@niu.edu (815) 753-2355
Assistant Coach Connor McKee cmckee@niu.edu (815) 753-2355
Volunteer Assistant Angela Righeimer arigheimer@niu.edu (815) 753-2355
Softball - CV 220E
Head Coach Christina Sutcliffe csutcliffe@niu.edu (815) 753-1497
Assistant Coach Jenna Boland jroberts8@niu.edu (815) 753-2245
Assistant Coach Heather Han hhan@niu.edu (815) 753-2245
Men's Tennis - CV 224C
Head Coach Patrick Fisher pfisher1@niu.edu (815) 753-6845
Graduate Assistant Coach Christian Hansen chansen3@niu.edu (815) 753-6845
Women's Tennis - CV 224C
Head Coach Ryun Ferrell rferrell@niu.edu (815) 753-9536
Volunteer Assistant Brian Brooks TBA (815) 753-9536
Women's Track and Field - CV 223D
Director of Track and Field and Cross Country/Head Coach Connie Teaberry cteaberry@niu.edu (815) 753-0571
Cross Country Head Coach/T&F Assistant Coach Greg Hipp ghipp@niu.edu (815) 753-9474
Assistant Coach Vince Bingham vbingham@niu.edu (815) 753-0836
Volunteer Assistant Ashley Lucas TBA (815) 753-0836
Volleyball - 223B & 223C
Head Coach Ray Gooden rgooden@niu.edu (815) 753-9533
Assistant Coach Lynnette Moster lmoster@niu.edu (815) 753-1496
Assistant Coach Joe Julkowski jjulkowski@niu.edu (815) 753-1496
Director of Volleyball Operations Samantha Grams sgrams1@niu.edu (815) 753-1496
Wrestling - CV 219A
Head Coach Ryan Ludwig rludwig@niu.edu (815) 753-9478
Assistant Coach Dominick Moyer dmoyer@niu.edu (815) 753-2915
Assistant Coach John Helgerson jhelgerson@niu.edu (815) 753-2915
Student-Athlete Academic Services - Yordon Center
Interim Director Dr. Earl Seaver eseaver@niu.edu (815) 753-1727
Academic Coordinator Dana Pautsch dpautsch@niu.edu (815)-753-9246
Academic Coordinator Jennifer Rice jrice2@niu.edu (815)-753-1654
Academic Assitant Brittney Lovett blovett1@niu.edu (815)-753-2706
Academic Assistant Ben Sturomski bsturomski1@niu.edu (815)-753-1812
Office Manager Leonard LeGrand llegrand@niu.edu (815)-753-1342
Athletic Training - Yordon Center
Assistant Athletic Director for Sports Medicine and Athletic Training Phil Voorhis pvoorhis@niu.edu (815) 753-0211
Assoc. Athletic Trainer Jeff Sisson jsisson@niu.edu (815) 753-4839
Asst. Athletic Trainer Lori Anderson lburesh@niu.edu (815) 753-1391
Asst. Athletic Trainer Katie Freece kfreece@niu.edu (815) 753-9477
Asst. Athletic Trainer Ben Kastler bkastler@niu.edu (815) 753-1624
Athletic Business Office - CV 204
Accountant Lesslie Erickson lerickson@niu.edu (815) 753-9543
Account Tech TBA TBA (815) 753-9542
Account Tech Beth Chilton bchilton@niu.edu (815) 753-1873
Account Tech Kristine Collin kcollin@niu.edu (815) 753-3358
Athletics Communications - CV 209
Associate Athletic Director Donna Turner
Football, Gymnastics
donnaturner@niu.edu (815) 753-9513
Associate Director Joe Summins
Football, Softball, Women's Golf
jsummins@niu.edu (815) 753-9539
Assistant Director Jeremy Reid
Men's Basketball, Men's Soccer, Men's Golf
jreid1@niu.edu (815) 753-3706
Assistant Director Matt Scheerer
Women's Basketball, Baseball
mscheerer@niu.edu (815) 753-1708
Assistant Director

Michael Benson
Volleyball, Wrestling, 
Cross Country, Track & Field

mbenson3@niu.edu (815) 753-9538
Graduate Assistant Corey Campbell
Women's Soccer, Men's Tennis, Women's Tennis
ccampbell5@niu.edu (815) 753-9572
Career Development - Yordon Center
Associate Athletics Director Monique Bernoudy mbernoudy@niu.edu (815) 753-9182
Compliance - Convocation Center
Assistant Athletics Director/Compliance Kiera Miller kmiller4@niu.edu (815) 753-8339
Compliance Coordinator Brett Russell brussell2@niu.edu (815) 753-9531
Graduate Assistant Peter Fitzgerald pfitzgerald3@niu.edu (815) 753-8447
Graduate Assistant Adam Kiel akiel2@niu.edu (815) 753-1420
Development - CV 213
Assistant Athletics Director/Annual Giving Tim Rice trice@niu.edu (815) 753-9198
Director of Development Zach Sweers zsweers@niu.edu (815) 753-5510
Development Assistant Travis Misner tmisner@niu.edu (815) 753-1923
Administrative Assistant Amy Schmidt aschmidt1@niu.edu (815) 753-1923
Equipment 
Equipment Supervisor (CV) Mike DeFauw mdefauw@niu.edu (815) 753-1941
Football Equipment Manager (YC) Mike Valentine mvalentine@niu.edu (815) 752-8409
Equipment Assistant (HS) Evan Klepec eklepec@niu.edu (815) 753-8409
Facilities and Event Operations - CV 219
Assistant Athletic Director Sue Hansfield shansfield@niu.edu (815) 753-9544
Facilities Director Matt Gonzalez mgonzalez12@niu.edu (815) 753-9590
Human Resources - CV 219D
Director of Personnel Sheila Berg sberg@niu.edu (815) 753-1494
Information Technology - CV 212
Information Technology Administrator Justin Kline jkline1@niu.edu (815) 753-3009
Graduate Assistant TBA TBA (815) 753-8040
Marketing and Sales - CV 213
NIU Sports Marketing Office     (815) 753-1343
Assistant Athletic Director/Marketing James Ericson jericson@niu.edu (815) 753-0800
Director of Sales Clifford Bottigliero cliffordb@niu.edu (815) 753-1292
Assistant Director of Marketing Katie Berry kberry@niu.edu (815) 753-8042
Graduate Assistant - Marketing Elliot Echols eechols1@niu.edu (815) 753-1823
Graduate Assistant - Marketing Daniel Green dgreen10@niu.edu (815) 753-1823
Northern Illinois IMG Sports Marketing
General Manager Casey Kahler casey.kahler@imgworld.com (815) 753-9229
Account Executive TBA TBA (815) 753-1966
Strength and Conditioning- Yordon Center
Head Coach Brad Ohrt bohrt@niu.edu (815) 753-9511
Assistant Coach Matthew Jacobs mjacobs@niu.edu (815) 753-0399
Assistant Coach Adam Lang alang1@niu.edu (815) 753-0399
Assistant Coach Zach Cahill zcahill@niu.edu (815) 753-0399
Ticket Office - CV 203H
Director TBA TBA (815) 752-6800
Ticket Sales Julie Ream jream@niu.edu (815) 752-6800
Ticket Sales Rona Hardt rhardt1@niu.edu (815) 752-6800